T: 01325 254525 | E: admin@carmel.bhcet.org.uk

Carmel Celebrates

Students, parents, staff and invited guests gathered at Carmel College in Darlington this week for the College’s annual Christmas Celebrations and Prize Giving.

At the beginning of the week over 500 people attended the College’s Christmas Liturgy which was held over two nights for the first time this year. The evening began with a short service celebrating the Nativity giving those assembled the opportunity to reflect on the Christmas Story. This was followed by a musical treat of Christmas Carols and songs sung by the school choirs and played by the school orchestra and pit band. This was a fantastic start to the week and left everyone filled with Christmas cheer and looking forward to the upcoming holidays.

The climax of the week was the College’s annual Presentation Evening and Prize Giving which was attended by over 400 guests staff, pupils and family members. This event is the College’s celebration of students’ achievements during the previous academic year with many of the students travelling back to Carmel during their Christmas break from Universities covering the length and breadth of the country including many of the top Russell Group Universities.

This year, once again, saw the best ever GCSE results at Carmel. 95% of students achieved the government’s quality benchmark of 5A* to C grades including maths and English and the pass rate at A level was 100%, placing Carmel in the very top percentage of schools nationally.

CEO, Maura Regan congratulated all the students on their achievements and emphasised that what makes Carmel and its students so successful is not just their achievements but the contribution and difference each student makes to the College Community. Her message to the assembled was that if there was ever a time to choose to make a difference it was now and that “the start of something new brings the hope of something great”.

Guest of honour on the evening was Dr Christie Johnson, a pupil at the College from 1994-2001, who is now teaching Classical Arabic Studies in the University of Cambridge. He was delighted to be given the opportunity to return to Carmel and thanked the staff for the contribution the College had made to his spiritual, intellectual and social development. “Living is learning” he said and our interactions with others help us to think and behave in new ways and shape our achievements. Dr Johnson then presented the students with their certificates and prizes.

The prizewinners on the evening were:

John Caden Cup Joe Walsh
Talitha Devey
Dr Allan Mitchell Award for Business Enterprise Daniel Lavender
The Religious Studies Award Teodora Gavril
Business Studies Prize Joe Lindsay
The Curtis Office Furniture Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Art Teodora Gavril
ALMIT Science Award – Chemistry Libby McCollom
ALMIT Science Award – Physics Caroline Lumsdon
ALMIT Science Award – Biology Michael Holder
ICT Award presented by NTL Business Solutions Katie Maclachlan
Creative ICT Award Keith Burton
Sports Studies Trophy Hannah Wake
Engineering Thomas McDonald
Tees Valley in Business Award for Excellence in Technology Sally Postle
A Level Geography Prize Amy Rowland
The History Prize Toni Redpath
Electronics Callum Taylor
Mathematics Caroline Lumsdon
Modern Foreign Languages Josephine Humphrey
Music Tim Jasper
Achievement in Art Textiles Poppy Crooks
Achievement in Theatre Studies John Meki
Achievement in Health & Social Care Sophie Rumney
Achievement in Media Studies Laura Hunter
Achievement in Photography Alexandra Hughes
English Language Angela Quick
English Literature Laura Nickson
Psychology Michael Holder
Sociology Marc Atkins
The James Corr Prize for Best A Level Results Caroline Lumsdon
Sophie Yates
Michael Holder
Tim Jasper
Josephine Humphrey
Ben Gay
Technocopy Prize for Best GCSE Results Rosie Passman
Ciaran Jasper
Andrew Watson
Ciara Byrne
Richard Coxon
James Harris
Lyndsey Carmel White Memorial Shields for Recognition of Achievement Leon Cunningham
Rotary Club Award John Oliver
Student Librarian Award Jack Waite
Law Marc Atkins
Travel and Tourism Award Olivia Haile
Head Boy
Head Girl
Michael Holder
Hannah Wake